Posted: in Cricket India by Malikamal Johns 0 comment

IPL 4 2011 begins at Chennai


Chennai, April 8, 2011: The fourth edition of the Indian Premier League is all set to kick start today at Chennai as the pilot match will be played between the completely renovated Kolkata night Rider’s team led by Gautam Gambhir and last season winner M. S Dhoni’s Chennai Super Kings.

The fourth edition is the largest of all season in which 10 new teams are participating. The teams have been divided into two pools through a draw system with 5 teams in each pool. There will be altogether 74 matches which are much more than last year’s 60 matches.

As per schedule, each team will be playing the same number of matches i.e. 14. Group A consists of Deccan Chargers, Delhi Daredevils, Kings XI Punjab, Mumbai Indians and Pune Warriors India.

While Group B has Kolkata Knight Riders, Kochi Tuskers Kerala, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings.

Under the new format, one team will face the other four teams in the same group twice on one home and one away game basis, and the other four teams from the other group once, and the remaining team two times.

For the first time the concept of playoff round has been introduced wherein the winner of first playoff goes to final immediately while the loser will still have a chance to qualify for the finals as it will participate in the third playoff match with the winner of the second play-off.

Well, fingers crossed for the opening match.


Get Updates by eMail: Submit eMail Here

Not what you are looking for? Search again

Special Note: Please note that Comment Section available below is for "Discussion amongst our Visitors" and NOT for Official Queries and Requests. Please report in-appropriate content to our web admin. Please read our Disclaimer before reporting. publishes news in association with IANS, IBNS, Sampurn News, MNS, etc. Read More.

Post your comments or inquiries